Gold Glove Awards

Show Gold Glove Awards


Original run: 30.10.2012 — ...
Country of origin: US
Genre: Sports
Network: ESPN2
Watched by: 1 of 713 313
Total running time: 2 hours 9 minutes
Episode duration: 43


The RawlingsGold Glove Award, usually referred to as the Gold Glove Awards, is the award given annually to the Major League Baseball players judged to have exhibited superior individual fielding performances at each fielding position in both the National League (NL) and the American League (AL), as voted by the managers and coaches in each league. Managers are not permitted to vote for their own players. Additionally, a sabermetric component provided by Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) accounts for approximately 25 percent of the vote. Eighteen Gold Gloves are awarded each year (with the exception of 1957, 1985 and 2007), one at each of the nine positions in each league. In 1957, the baseball glove manufacturer Rawlings created the Gold Glove Award to commemorate the best fielding performance at each position. The award was created from a glove made from gold lamé-tanned leather and affixed to a walnut base. Initially, only one Gold Glove per position was awarded to the top fielder at each position in Major League Baseball; however, separate awards were given for the National and American Leagues beginning in 1958.

In 2011, Rawlings added a Platinum Glove Award for each league, voted on by the fans.

Titles and release dates