Lost Worlds, Vanished Lives

, to add this show to your profile

Original run: 23 Apr 1989 – 14 May 1989

Country of origin: UK

Genre: Family

Network: BBC Two UK

Watched by: 12 of 698 418 0%

Total running time: 2 hours 40 minutes

Episode duration: 40 minutes

IMDB rating: 8.4 of 10 785

MyShows rating: 4 of 5 3


Lost Worlds, Vanished Lives is a four-part BBC documentary series about the discovery of fossils. It was written and presented by David Attenborough.

With the help of expert palaeontologists, fossil hunters and (for the time) modern animation techniques, Attenborough attempts to show how life evolved in Earth's distant past. To do so, he travels the globe to visit the world's most famous fossil sites.

Titles and release dates