NCAA College Football National Championship

, to add this show to your profile

Original run: 12 Jan 2015 – …

Country of origin: US

Network: ESPN US

Watched by: 1 of 676 535 0%

Total running time: 1 day 18 hours 2 minutes

Episode duration: 210 minutes

MyShows rating: 5 of 5 1


The NCAA College Football National Championship is a bowl game that determines the National Champion of NCAA Division I FBScollege football first played at the end of the 2014 – 2015 College Football season. The 1st ever game was played at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas on January 12, 2015. It was the culminating game of the 2014–15 bowl season as the inaugural College Football Playoff National Championship, replacing the BCS National Championship Game. The national title is now contested through a four-team bracket system, the College Football Playoff, which replaced the previous Bowl Championship Series.

The 1st game was played between the winners of two designated semi-final bowl games played on January 1, 2015: the No. 4 Ohio State Buckeyes, who upset No. 1 Alabama Crimson Tide 42–35 in the 2015 Sugar Bowl, and the No. 2 Oregon Ducks, who defeated previously unbeaten No. 3 Florida State Seminoles 59–20 in the 2015 Rose Bowl. This was the first championship game since 2006 that did not feature at least one SEC team, and the teams' first meeting since the 2010 Rose Bowl, which the Buckeyes won 26–17. The Ohio State Buckeyes won the game, 42–20, marking the first national championship awarded under the CFP system. Following the game, the AP Poll and Coaches' Poll also named Ohio State as their top team of the season, marking Ohio State's first national championship since 2002 and their 8th overall.

The 2016 College Football Playoff National Championship is the national championship game of the 2015 college football season, scheduled to take place on Monday, January 11, 2016 at 8:30 p.m. (ET). It will be the second College Football Playoff National Championship, which caps the College Football Playoff and is the culmination of the 2015–16 bowl season.

Titles and release dates